Meet Our Volunteers

Top row: Susan Iverson, Terry Olson, Tommye Scanlin
Bottom row: Pat Dunston, Regina Dale, Dorothy Clews, Nicki Bair

Board of Directors

Dorothy Clews, Director of Awards
Open, Director of Communications
Open, Director of Exhibitions
Terry Olson, Director of Education
Regina Dale, Director of Finance, Treasurer
Open, Director of Fundraising
Patricia Dunston, Director of Membership, Secretary
Nicki Bair, Director of Promotions
Susan Iverson, Director at Large, President
Tommye Scanlin, Director at Large

Board Eligibility

All ATA members who have access to email are eligible to apply to become a member of the Board of Directors. Each board member heads one of ATA’s committees and works with a team. Board candidates should possess administrative and management skills, and be willing to dedicate time most weeks to fulfilling committee responsibilities. Interested members may contact:

Online Application for the ATA Board of Directors


Mary Lane, Executive Director
Rachel Fesperman, Assistant to the Director
Maggie Leininger, Administrative Manager

Committee  Volunteers

Can you lend a hand? ATA’s programming is made possible by volunteers. Our committees are led by volunteers who work together under the leadership of a Committee Chair. ATA welcomes new volunteers at all times and will find a job that suits your interests, talents and availability. The Board of Directors hopes you will join the “inner circle” of ATA by getting involved. Contact our Volunteer Coordinator!

Awards Committee: Dorothy Clews, Chair

  • ATA Award for Excellence — Dorothy Clews
  • ATA International Student Award — Dorothy Clews
  • ATA Scholarship for Tapestry Study — Dorothy Clews
  • Emerge Award — Dorothy Clews

Communications Committee: Open

  • Tapestry Topics: Quarterly Newsletter — Leslie Munro, Editor; Robbie Lafleur, Copy Editor; Patricia Jordon, Layout; Pat Williams, Proofreading; Kim Mumbower, Indexing; Open, Ask the Weaving Wonk; Donna Wynn, Volunteer Column
  • eNews — Mary Lane
  • eKudos — Virginia Taylor
  • ATA-Talk: Christine Laffer and Margaret Sunday, Moderators
  • Webmaster — Mary Lane
  • Web program managers — Sarah Warren, Artist Pages; Vera Coberley, TEx@ATA layout; Kim Mumbower, Links; Open, Educational Articles; Barbara Burns, Mary Lane, Blog; Rachel Fesperman, Instructors’ and Suppliers’ Listings

Education Committee: Terry Olson, Chair

  • Mentoring Program — Linda Disosway
  • Members Retreat & Workshops — Terry Olson
  • Online Educational Articles — Terry Olson, Leslie Mitchell

Exhibitions Committee: Open, Chair

  • Small Tapestry International 6: Beyond the Edge — Carolle Ternus, Exhibition Chair; Dianne Chicoine, Catalog Design
  • TEx@ATA Gallery — Valerie Kirk, Coordinator; Vera Coberly, Website design
  • Venue Search — Kate Colwell

Finance Committee: Regina Dale, Chair

  • Archives & Historic Documentation — Fran Williamson
  • Financial Management–Regina Dale
  • Print Materials Shipping — Deb Shoenberger
  • Print Materials Label Production — Jessica Ostrow

Fundraising Committee: Open

  • Valentines Day Appeal — Mary Lane
  • Grants Research and Preparation — Ellen Ramsey
  • Advertising Coordinator – Open

Membership Committee: Patricia Dunston, Chair

  • Membership Database Maintenance and Renewals — Patricia Dunston
  • Tapestry Topics mailing — Ruth Manning
  • Volunteer Coordinator — Donna Wynn; Victoria Moore, Assistant Volunteer Coordinator
  • Membership Directory — Maggie Leininger
  • Member Survey and Think Tanks–Mary Lane and Pat Dunston

Promotions Committee: Nicki Bair

  • Promotional emails — Nicki Bair, Rachel Fesperman
  • Promotional Mailing List Management — Mary Lane
  • Blog Tour – Janna Maria Vallee
  • CODA 2019 — Ellen Ramsey, Editor
  • Advertising — Nicki Bair, Content; Layout–open
  • Facebook — Lisa Almeida, Tapestry of the Day
  • Pinterest — Lin Squires
  • Instagram — Rachel Fesperman
  • Twitter –Rachel Fesperman

Contact Us