World Tapestry Now


World Tapestry Now marks the 30th anniversary of the landmark 1988 exhibition World Tapestry Today, the catalyst for ATA’s subsequent program of American Tapestry Biennial exhibitions. The juror for World Tapestry Now was the internationally regarded textile artist Włodzimierz Cygan, Professor of Textiles, Strzeminski Academy of Fine Arts, Lødz, Poland. Mr. Cygan chose 43 tapestries from a total of 302 entries received. Unlike previous American Tapestry Biennials, World Tapestry Now is an online show that will go live on the ATA website July 10, 2018. The exhibition is accompanied by a print catalog, available in June 2018. The catalog includes a critical essay by Janis Jeffries, Professor of Visual Arts and Research at Goldsmiths College, University of London as well as a statement by juror Wlodzimierz Cygan.

Participating Artists

Janet Austin, USA

Brita Been, Norway

Myla Collier, USA

Sharon Crary, USA

Erika Diamond, USA

Maria Louisa Ferreira, Portugal

Jane Freear-Wyld, United Kingdom

Daniel Garver, USA

Tim Gresham, Australia

Birgitta Hallberg, Danish

Joyce Hayes, USA

Barbara Heller, Canada (1st Place)

Agneta Henerud, Sweden

Ane Henriksen, Denmark

Fiona Hutchison, United Kingdom

Susan Iverson, USA

Felisksas Jakubauskas, Lithuania

Margaret Jones, United Kingdom

Aino Kajaniemi, Finland

Jane Kidd, Canada

Monique Lehman, USA

Cynthia Martinez, USA

Julia Mitchell, USA

Ann Naustdal, Norway

Gudrun Pagter, Denmark

Judit Pazmany, Hungary

Gunilla Petersson, Sweden

Candace Pratt, USA

Ellen Ramsey, USA

Sanne Ransby, Denmark

Millicent Reed, Australia

Michael Rohde, USA

Jon Eric Riis, USA

Kristin Saeterdal, Norway

Jennifer Sargent, USA

Matty Smith, United Kingdom

Shelley Socolofsky, USA

Anne Stabell, Norway (2nd Place)

Ixchel Suarez, Canada

Marika Szaraz, Belgium

Nora Tapaí, Hungary

Sue Weil, USA,

Mary Zicafoose, USA


A full color catalog of the show will be printed and available to order in June 2018. Online catalog order form.

Teitelbaum Awards

The Teitelbaum Awards are monetary awards presented to two accepted artists. The juror for the show bestows the awards on tapestries that (s)he considers to be of exceptional aesthetic and technical quality.

First Place Award
Barbara Heller, “Tzimtzum – Transcendence”

Second Place Award
Anne Stabell, “Summer in the Woods”

People’s Choice Award

Viewers of the show online will vote for the People’s Choice Award. The winner will receive the 5” Mini Mirrix Loreli Loom.


Professor Włodzimierz Cygan is a Polish textile artist renowned throughout the world for his technically innovative tapestries. Cygan trained in Gobelin weaving in the 1970s, graduating with a Masters in Art, but he has long preferred to create his tapestries using a frame that gives him the freedom to warp radially. His honors include the Grand Prix at the 12th International Triennale of Tapestry in Lodz, Poland in 2007 and a bronze medal at the 6th International Fiber Art Biennale in Zhengzhou City, China in 2010. Cygan is a professor of textiles in the Strzeminski Academy of Fine Arts in Lodz.